Whom Shall I Fear?

DSC_0319Psalm 27:1 The LORD is my light and my salvation: whom shall I fear? The LORD is the strength of my life: of whom shall I be afraid?

2 When the wicked, even mine enemies and my foes, came upon me to eat up my flesh, they stumbled and fell.

3 Though an host should encamp against me, my heart shall not fear: though war should rise against me, in this will I be confident.

10 When my father and my mother forsake me, then the LORD will take me up.

14 Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.

Some days it is hard for me to concentrate on things that matter because of the things I see happening around me. People are killing, hurting and torturing others without any thought that within that person lies a soul. The world stage is lined with terror and violence. It’s hard to think that there is a chance that the people you talk to and hug and kiss before you go out might not come back home. It’s a sad world when people take lives without any regard. Protection and peace are words that seem to have lost their meaning within a matter of a few years.

Then I am reminded of a simple song I learned when I was younger. It speaks of the almighty power that God and only God has. He’s got the whole world in His hands. He created this beautiful sphere and all of its celestial neighbors with only a few words. He teaches eagles to fly through open skies with only the help of weightless feathers and watches horses thunder across open plains to a place of refuge. He has named every star in the sky, numbered each hair on my head and knows every breath I take. He designed the complex and beautiful human body that scientists and physicians have studied for thousands of years yet still cannot fully heal or understand. He knows the name of every child whether born or unborn that ever has or ever will be conceived. He decorates the morning sky with rays of light that warm the Earth from her peaceful slumber.

I love these verses in Psalms not only for their content, but also for their history and their speaker. King David is known as the “man after God’s own heart.”  I suppose I love David because even though he failed and was tried he never quit seeking God. In most of the Psalms, a picture of a light in darkness is prominent. David spent a good while running from King Saul and at one point his own son, Absalom. In this passage he perfectly describes the love and reach of God despite his seemingly hopeless situation. It’s hard to think about current events when you look at these verses. Suddenly the troubles that seemed so daunting fade into oblivion with the thought of such an amazing God.

He’s got the whole world in His hands.

Have a beautiful one wherever you are.

Loads of Love,

Kate

xoxo

Leave a Reply

