My Tennessee Home

I was born and raised in the Appalachian Mountains. I have never known a world without lush green woods highlighted with summer rain or fiery leaves blanketing back roads and sidewalks in autumn. Rivers slowly careen and hem in their surroundings with the firm yet gentle nudge of a father guiding his child towards home. The sun warms our bones and smiles on pine covered peaks that reach their lofty hands to awe inspiring sky. Clouds roll over pastures of nonchalant cattle and carpets of green grass. Birds trace the sky with soft feathers and glide dreamily back down to jealous earth.

East Tennessee will always be my home. If she is a humble place then please label me with the humble. She is not known for her great wealth, sparkling cities or rich industry. She was carried on the backs of weary farmers and nurtured by the gentle hands of Natives who loved her. She holds no special place in hearts, but she is every part of mine.

The mountains taught me the beauty of boundaries that once seemed so needless. They have repeatedly shielded cold and strong winds from the doors of our homes. They remind me that the strongest things in life aren’t moved by every slight of wind that whistles ominously through anxious ever listening ears.

Crisp Morning

My Tennessee home has taught me that simplicity is best.

The House of Charlotte

Even the smallest things can make the biggest impact in life.

Leaf Curtains

Life is a gradual changing of seasons.

Light and Dark

Darkness can never overshadow light.

Canopy

The best ceilings are made of leaves.

Gateway

Roads are best traveled with a warm hand to hold.

Rags to Riches

Any beautiful soul can grow from rags to riches.

No Trespassing

And sometimes signs are along the way for a reason.

Perhaps one day I will be a well rounded individual if I heed these important lessons. I suppose until that day comes I will just stand back and admire the view.

Stay ever so lovely.

Loads of Love,

Kate

xoxo

5 thoughts on “My Tennessee Home

Leave a Reply

