Reclusive

image

Yesterday I made a life decision. I came to the conclusion that I no longer wanted or needed social media in my life. I no longer have any form of social media unless this blog counts. But honestly in all fairness most writers I know wouldn’t be considered the most outgoing of people. (Not saying that only quiet writers are best, no sir or madame.)

My reclusiveness has given me peace. I feel as if a load has been lifted from my numb shoulders. It’s not that I dislike people or interaction, but I do believe the best sort of interaction involves direct contact with humans, not through a handheld device.

I have been questioned why I have made this decision and the answer is this: I want a simple, beautiful life. I don’t want to waste the precious moments I have been given on a vain keeping-up-with-the-Jones’ game that only makes people feel empty inside. Life isn’t about having someone follow you or like what you’ve said. It’s so much more than a blinking screen and endless streams of comments.

Imagine the world that could be seen without the visor of a phone. Such amazing things surround us everyday and it is all taken for granted.

I want to see all I can while I can. I know I am reclusive, quiet and odd, but for once in my life I feel completely content with who I am. And no one has even approved!

Have a beautiful day wherever you are and stay amazing.

Loads of Love,
Kate
xoxo

6 thoughts on “Reclusive

  1. I have considered deleting my Facebook. Honestly, life WOULD be so much simpler without it.

    That said, I’m going abroad soon and Facebook makes it so easy to keep in touch with friends and family. Perhaps one day I’ll be brave and get rid of it, but for now, it’s here to stay.

    I completely understand where you’re coming from, though. Why do all these people who aren’t really my friends need to know what’s going on in my life, anyhow?

  2. I have a Facebook and Twitter, but rarely post anything, and only scroll through it occasionally. I’ve found that the less time I spend on it, the more content I am with myself. I think its one of those things that I will eventually delete as well, as its more of a waste of time than something I enjoy.

Leave a Reply

