Well ladies and gents, the other day something quite magical happened. And by magical I mean I spent a significant chunk of my meager pay check to fund one of my wild and quite satisfying dreams.

I bought a camera.

Not just any old camera. A Nikon D3200.

I usually buy what I call “camera carcasses” (in other words old cameras that either don’t work or they don’t have all of their pieces and must be painstakingly put back together again) so this is a huge deal.

I have been dreaming of owning my own fully functional camera for a while now and I am very pleased to say that dreams do come true!

I have decided to call her Dolly after the old Louis Armstrong song “Hello, Dolly.”

I bet you saw that coming, didn’t you?

So to celebrate the occasion and to warm up my beginner photography skills, here are a few snaps I captured in the past few days.

DSC_0216

This is the view from my porch this evening after a steady rain shower. Lately everything has been rather dry, so I am incredibly grateful for the rain we’ve been getting. I never have understood why people complain about the rain. It’s such a beautiful force that helps create and sustain life. What could be annoying or silly about that?

DSC_0186

I love being able to see a bird’s nest when I have a camera on hand. This little bird box is home to a adorable little family who happens to have a friendly spider as a neighbor.

DSC_0174

My Mom and I drove down this beautiful little road in pursuit of the perfect photographic moment. I had her stop the car at least fifty times just to take a few seconds worth of pictures. This would have frustrated any normal human being but not my Mom. She knows that when opportunity raises his beautiful head to take full advantage of it. Even if that means jerking to a full stop at the most random of moments.

DSC_0173

The beautiful thing about this road was that it was covered in white petals that had fallen from the vines above. Any time I think of that road I think peaceful thoughts.

I hope you all have had a wonderful day! Stay ever so amazing and what not.

Loads of Love,

Kate

xoxo

Hello, Dolly!

11 thoughts on “Hello, Dolly!

  1. These shots are lovely, Kate. I think the pictures would look even more gorgeous if you perhaps enlarged them? ๐Ÿ™‚
    Bye love, thanks for the likes โค

Leave a Reply

