Pastel Attempts

image

Today I was in a creative mood and I decided to use the pastels I bought a few days ago. When I purchased them I figured it would be best to get the 18 piece set just to be sure that I would enjoy using pastels. So far I really like it!

It’s a messy medium that lets you get your hands all dirty. I prefer it that way. It makes me feel like I am truly in touch with what I’m doing.

When I was younger I didn’t really care for watercolors or pastels and now they are my favorites. I suppose when I started out I thought that neither of the mediums could really portray details that often make or break a work. Now I know that the details just take practice and patience.

image

This is a pastel of my record player Vinnie. It isn’t finished just yet because I am a bit stuck on what to do next. It’s not that I hate what it looks like now. I just feel like something is missing.

Usually when this happens, I leave the piece out so I can look at it in passing. Sometimes when I’m putting on my makeup in the morning or when I get home from work I can just casually glance over and see exactly what I need to finish. If I don’t have time (or I am already clean for work) I just write down what I need to do later.

Inspiration hits at the most random times, but once it comes you must act on it. And sometimes that means getting smudges on your face from the paint brush from said inspiration. It’s even better when you don’t realize it until lunch right in the middle of the day.

Ah, inspiration.

I hope you all have a lovely day! Stay ever so amazing.

Loads of Love,
Kate
xoxo

Leave a Reply

