Patience and Fishing

image

As a kid my mom and dad regularly tried to do little activities with my sister and me to make good memories and let us spend more time together. One of these activities was going fishing. My sister was rather keen on it.

I wasn’t.

Patience is a virtue I’ve always lacked. I am the first to admit that I become frustrated and narrow minded when things get hairy. So naturally sticking a fishing pole in my hand and telling me to sit on a dirty, bumpy bank to wait for a random fish to pull on my line wasn’t my idea of a good time. I remember wishing to be home in my backyard on my swing or riding my bike.

That sounds terrible, doesn’t it?

Honestly even now I hate the idea of fishing. But it’s a good way to test patience.

Most things that are worth doing in life require patience. Anything from going to school, losing weight, dating and even driving can test the waters of the chill minded.

For the past few days I have felt like the younger Kate slumped over in a bored and frustrated stupor just begging time to race on so I can go home.

But that’s not how life should be lived. Plain and simple, I’m being a big baby.

I love life so much more when I can just laugh things off and realize that not everything will be quick, easy and perfect. (I honestly don’t believe that combination truly exists anyway.)

So I suppose I should learn to relax on the river bank. After all, what’s a few more minutes of calm silence next to beautiful cool water?

Hey, was that a fish?

Have a good one wherever you are and stay ever so amazing.

Loads of Love,
Kate
xoxo

Leave a Reply

