I Stand

image

What happens if I fall
and everyone sees
and they won’t stop staring at me?

I get up.

What if I can’t see
any way out
and my hopes are crushed by doubt?

I get up again.

What if I fail the test
and I’ve given my all
and all I do is fall?

I get up again.

What if they say
I can’t succeed
and all have turned their back on me?

I get up again.

Then I stand.

Because the best victories
man has ever known
have been fought on bloody grounds
standing bravely all alone.

I stand.

3 thoughts on “I Stand

  1. Thank you so much for posting this. It really speaks to me and where I’ve been in life lately. I hope things start looking up for you. It takes a lot of courage to stand up beneath all of the pressures, but eventually you’ll have the victory.

Leave a Reply

