Kicking Butt, Taking Names

tumblr_mwtgohh9M31s8gq5do1_250

Hello everyone! I hope you all are just peachy! Recently I have reached a new significant milestone in my life. (Quite literally.) It all happened on July 31. I woke up for my usual morning run with a bit of a bounce in my step. Previously I had not been running at my full capacity so I was a little disheartened to start, but I tried to stay optimistic. After pushing off to start my commute I began to settle in the rhythm. I finished my usual two miles and I still felt pretty good, so I pushed on. Lo and behold, two laps later, I had reached three whole miles! Needless to say I was beyond thrilled. The adrenaline rush I felt after crossing that line led me to believe I could have made it to four, but my knees and feet said otherwise.

Sure. It’s not a marathon, but it’s a start. I fully intend to continue running until I can’t anymore. Something about it just makes my day. It’s border line addicting. I get extremely cranky when I have to skip and I think about it at least once every hour. I guess you could say it’s my drug.

Another little venture I have taken on is yoga. I have been waking up at 6:30 to “get in my happy zone” and then go for a run. To many people this sounds insane, but I can’t even begin to describe how good it makes me feel. Something about kicking my own butt is so painfully satisfying. The yoga is a little rocky right now because I am a beginner. (My sister walked in on me one day and she laughed at my poor stance and balance. My shoulder stand needs a little TLC to say the least.) It seems I am not making too much progress, but I don’t plan on quitting. Something about twist and contorting your body in the morning feels gratifying. On top of that I am double jointed, so maybe now that little “talent” of sorts will actually come in handy. Possibly.

I wish you all the best in your athletic ventures! G’head, kid. Kick butt and take names.

Stay awesome.

Loads of Love and Sore Muscles,
Kate
xoxo

Leave a Reply

