Letting the Blogging Cat Out of the Bag

posing-with-abercrombie-and-hollister-bags-24

Blogging is probably one of the biggest secrets I have in my life. I see it as something highly personal and possibly blush-inducing. Very few of the people I am close to know this blog exists. I don’t tell many people because I suppose I like the idea of having something that gives me so much happiness tucked away in the back of my mind.

On top of that, I feel like I can totally be who I am on my blog. Sometimes it’s hard to put in to words what I am feeling at the moment so instead of stumbling around on my words, I write it down here in hopes that someone might relate. The way I see it, if I am going through something, whether good or bad, chances are there is someone else out there that might be feeling the same way. Who knows, it might make someone feel like they are not alone. In my limited experience, loneliness is one of the worst feelings in the whole universe.

Another thing that holds me back from letting the blogging cat out of the bag is self promotion. To be honest, I hate talking about myself. It’s not that I have a false sense of humility or no self esteem. It’s just that I don’t want to be one of those “Oh look at me! I’m writing about all of the knowledge I have acquired in my super special, fantastically awesome blog! You should read it! It will change your life!” types. (We’ve all met them before.)

Don’t get me wrong, though. I am not ashamed of my blog or the incredible people I have come to know because of it. It’s just something I like to keep tucked in my pocket for extra special occasions. I prefer to tell people I feel I can trust and that won’t see me as an attention-seeking emotional basket case. For me, blogging is a very intimate thing. I am literally taking pieces of me and putting them out there for everyone to see and sometimes that’s not easy. It’s not for attention, a pat on the back, numbers, or likes. It’s for the chance to help someone else and for the love of writing.

You might be wondering why I am writing about this specific topic on a random day in May. (Oh, that rhymed!) Well, I suppose it was on my mind. Best wishes to all of you anonymous bloggers out there! If you think about it, it’s almost like having super powers. You know, keeping your identity safe, wearing masks, lurking around random computer screens, defeating evil, wearing spandex, proclaiming catchy catch phrases etc.

I hope you all have a fantastic day wherever you are! Stay amazing.

Loads of Love,
Kate
xoxo

8 thoughts on “Letting the Blogging Cat Out of the Bag

  1. Pingback: Faith in Humanity… restored… | Naturally Dreamy

  2. Well said. Exactly the same reason my blog is anonymous. 🙂 I agree that loneliness is a terrible feeling. Reading your posts reminds me I’m not alone, which we INFJs feel quite often. Thanks for the post and stay awesome!

    • Thank you! And it’s good to hear from you! I hope you are well. I am so glad INFJs can have a big reunion on the internet! It does make you feel less lonely. And thank you for reading! Have a good one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

