A Woman of Character

Eleanor

Around two years ago I hit a wall. It was a wall that seemed so tall and strong to me that it knocked me off my feet and brought me to my trembling knees. I tried to get up but my circumstances swiftly knocked the breath out of me. I couldn’t sleep, hardly breathe and I felt as if my life was crumbling before my tired tear filled eyes. I felt that no matter what I did nothing could change my situation. I began searching for answers frantically and I had almost thrown up the white flag and waved it slowly and heavily with a broken heart. At the last second I saw this quote:

“No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.”

I began to cry, but this time these tears were tears of joy and understanding.

I found my answer.

The woman who is so famous for this quote lived a life of meaning and beauty. She helped everyone she met and is a true definition of character. Though many judged her based on her outer appearance claiming that she was “plain” and “timid” she changed the world in a matter of a few short years. She is known for her charity work and her wise words. She was quiet and often remained on the sidelines preferring to help others without the attention of flashing cameras. Her quotes are full of wisdom and kindness. Her inside was so beautiful that any comparison of any other woman’s outer beauty is merely filthy rags on a garbage heap.

It breaks my heart to know that so many underestimated this amazing woman because of her outward appearance. How could you look at such a beautiful heart and see anything resembling ugliness or plainness? Although many put her down she continued to be so incredible and change so many lives for the better.

Her name is Eleanor Roosevelt.

In my humble opinion, we need more women like Mrs. Roosevelt. Women of character and love who don’t mind letting inner beauty trump outer beauty. In the end, we all get wrinkles, grey hair and age spots but the condition of our heart remains the same. We have too many celebrities and “role models” that push a plastic, harsh agenda on young women that screams “You’re not good enough and you never will be.”

We need more women that aren’t afraid to be true women. We need women with tender hearts and loving arms that can heal the most damaged of hearts. We need women to tell young women that who they are matters so much more than what they look like. Because strong women of character can help a young woman who is struggling to make it through this maze of life.

Someone like me.

I have been fortunate enough to know several women of character and to be honest I wouldn’t trade them for anything in the world. They, like Mrs. Roosevelt, have taught me that my heart counts for more than my hair, my nail polish color, my purse or my makeup. They have taught me that being a woman is one of the highest privileges ever given and I should not take it lightly because someone is always watching. I have the opportunity to change what is around me if I do it with love and humility.

My wish is that I could be half the woman Eleanor Roosevelt and others were. I want to live my life to help others see just how special they are. I want to mold my thoughts around my inner beauty rather than my outer beauty. I want to help build up rather than tear down. I want to exhibit my heart foremost. I want to help pass along the legacy of character.

Stay amazing.

Loads of Love,
Kate
xoxo

Leave a Reply

