The Quartet of Radiance Award

happy

Hello all!

I hope you are all having a hunky-dory day full of happiness and sunshine (even though it is a Monday in my little chunk of the world.) Just the other day I logged in to WordPress and found a tiny orange thing in the corner of my screen. Naturally, any WordPress user knows what this means. Someone commented…on something…

Of course I tried to play it cool and scroll through all the posts I hadn’t read, but as usual curiosity gripped my easily-distracted mind and I clicked on the button. Okay, maybe self-control isn’t exactly my strong suit.

Bad Kate.

Lo and behold, it was Lonely Lion and she had nominated me for “The Quartet of Radiance Award”. (These include the Inner Peace Award, Most Influential Blogger, Awesome Blog Content Award and The Sunshine Award.) My face instantly lit up like the red panda you see above. I would like to give her a hearty thank you and recommend her fantastic blog. She definitely pegs all the situations and thoughts of a teenage girl making her way through the world. Any time I read her posts I feel as though I am traveling back in time to visit my younger self.

Part of accepting the award is to make an alphabet list of things that describe you. So when you mix a lot of clumsiness, quirkiness, curly hair, a slight Captain America obsession and imagination, throw it all in a bowl and bake at 375 you get my very Kattie Kate-ish list!(It’s best served with a cup of coffee and a good sense of humor.)

Let’s do this. *Cue music*

audrey

Audrey Hepburn- To be honest, I’ve never really had a hero growing up. Even now I can’t really think of someone that I want to be exactly like but if I had to choose one person that inspires me it would be Audrey Hepburn. She is the perfect example of a lady and she wasn’t afraid to be herself. What more could you ask for? I wish I could have met her. Anytime I am feeling down about myself I read a few of her quotes and I feel pretty. Having the ability to make someone happy is a rare quality that she possessed. And let’s face it; she knew how to pull off a black dress before anyone else even thought about it. She is the ultimate woman in my opinion.

Books-Something about reading a book just feels right to me. I love feeling the pages and seeing the perfectly type script. Another thing about books is that they are found in the most magical place on earth. (No. Not Disney World/Land.) A library.Just walking around and looking at all the books makes me feel at home. I am wanting to drift off just thinking of it…

tumblr_m7g04aVRSZ1qc5osho3_r1_500

Captain America- Yes, I realize I have already mentioned him, but if you notice from that previous sentence I have a slight obsession of the Steve Rogers/ Cap America variety. I love him the most because of his character. He always seems to want to do the right thing even if it goes against other peoples’ opinions. To me that is a great strength. (That and he doesn’t look too bad in the suit, either.)

By the way, you should see The Winter Soldier. I promise you won’t be disappointed!

cap minion

Despicable Me-This movie is probably the best children’s movie known to man. (In my biased opinion.) I even (without shame) went to see the second one with one of my friends on opening day. We were surrounded by small giddy children and very confused soccer moms. I’m pretty sure my friend and I were more excited than the kids.

No. I have no regrets.

Oh look! He likes Captain America too!

Ella Fitzgerald- If I’ve said it once, I’ll say it again. Ella Fitzgerald is by far the Queen of Jazz. Her voice is so smooth and gives meaning to everything she sings. Jazz music just wouldn’t be the same without her.

Forever 21- I absolutely adore this store! If I could have three wishes from a magical genie the last one would be for a Forever 21 as a walk-in closet. Could you imagine the possibilities? Ah, I need a moment. Or two.

great dane

Great Dane- These dogs are incredible! They look like mini horses. If I had the choice to have another dog to pair with my Mini Schnauzer (his name is Bandit) it would definitely be one of these guys. I would probably name it Thor. Just look at that face!

Happy- This song is by far one my favorites. Pharrell did a fantastic job putting the feeling of happiness in a song. I play this over and over when I feel down and out and it makes me want to dance and sing. Go ahead. Try not to smile when you hear it. I don’t think it can be done.

Infj

INFJ-This is probably another thing you know about me. According to the Myers-Briggs personality test, I am an INFJ. Explaining what an INFJ is would take a considerable amount of your time, so if you would like to know more about it, you can click here. And to all my INFJ comrades out there, stay awesome! (That goes for all personality types, too.)

journey

Journey- Out of all the bands that came out of the 80’s, I would have to say Journey is the best. Steve Perry has a great voice that makes you want to sing along. And no one can keep themselves from singing along to “Don’t Stop Believing.” You just can’t. It’s physically impossible.

koala

Koalas- These little guys are so fascinating! I’ve never seen one up close (besides a trip from the zoo). They seem so cuddly and snuggly. I just want to give one a big hug!

Lipstick-I also have a slight obsession with lipstick. Anytime I leave the house without it I feel naked. I prefer pinks and reds of all shades. I believe that every woman has a perfect shade of lipstick and once she finds it, she can take over the world. (In a non-scary sort of way, of course.)

Modcloth-If you haven’t ever been on this website, you have lived your life all wrong. I would love to have unlimited access to Modcloth’s clothes. Now that is quite a fantasy. I need another moment.

Natural Hair- For the past few years I have been letting my curly hair have its way. I used to straighten it daily because that’s what everyone else was doing. (And that’s never a good reason to do something, I’ve come to notice.) finally I said ‘Forget it,’ and I set my hair free. The good news? I have no split ends and I’m seen as an individual. Woohoo! The bad news? Frizz. Loads of it.

Oh well. You can’t have it all.

Oxfords-I wish they would stay in season forever! I love these little guys. As a matter of a fact I am wearing some right now. How coincidental! (Not really.) Oxfords easily add a touch of style to anything. They are super shoes with fantastic fashion powers. Take that, evil doers.

sharpened pencils 2

Pencils-I just love new sharp pencils. Something about them makes me want to sketch and write to my heart’s content. They have a certain smell as well. They make me want to creat something that goes beyond who I am and that thrills me. So if I’m ever cross, just buy me some new yellow pencils. I will try to remain angry, but it will be very difficult and soon I will smile just a little. Oh, and get me some paper too while you’re at it.

quilt

Quilts- A big part of Southern life back in the day was quilting. People used old shirts, dresses, baby clothes and other scrap cloth to create warm works of art to keep warm in the winter. They can range from small squares to complex snowflake and flower patterns. Looking at them makes me feel close to home and all warm and fuzzy.

records

Records-If you follow my blog frequently you will notice that I collect records. Why? Because I love the sound and the thrill of the hunt. Something about listening to records on a rainy day just makes me forget all the stuff that made me blue. That and looking in antique stores for these gems is good exercise. Do you know how hard it is to look through a butt-ton of records in the secluded, musty corners of random antique stores? It’s pretty rough, let me tell ya. Serious elbow grease, people.

short

Short- I am right at 5’2. I am used to the jokes and the giggling. The weird thing is when your younger siblings outgrow you they suddenly feel as though they can beat up on you. But let me reassure you, what I lack in height I make up for in spunk. Ka-pow.

Oh, and yes I may be short but I do have a reason. *Cough Cough* Randy Newman.

sweet tea

Tea- Since I was knee-high to a grasshopper (wait, I still kind of am…) I have been drinking sweet tea. It’s a Southern staple, really. It’s not that I don’t like traditional warm tea; it’s just that to me a tall glass of ice cold super sweet tea is sheer heaven. It is basically diabetes in a glass, but it’s worth it. Top it off with some sour cream pound cake while sitting on a back porch swing on a warm spring day and you’ve got your own slice of paradise.

ukulele

Ukulele- For my twentieth trip around the sun I received a pink ukulele which I named Stella. I am in the process of learning how to play Stella and as of now all I know is “I’m Yours” by Jason Mraz. Believe it or not, it’s rather difficult to find songs that involve a ukulele. Unless you live in Hawaii. In which case, aloha!

VW

Volkswagen-I adore pretty much anything Volkswagen makes. My first car was a black beetle named Sophie. She was tons of fun to drive and I miss her terribly. I made some great memories in that car. The only complaint I have is the cup holders. They are right up under the dash so there is no room to put your drinks. That causes you to have to hold your drinks until you get home…and spill them anytime you hit the brakes or change gears. (That was experience talking.) Miss you Sophie!

Water- I never thought I would ever get to the point that I never drink soda, but now that has changed. A few years ago I completely stopped drinking soda and picked up a bottle of water (About the only other thing I drink is sweet tea. Hey, I’m Southern. What do you expect?) The rest is history. I can honestly say I do not miss soda in the slightest way. If anything I find it highly repulsive and I avoid it at all costs. My body has been happier ever since.

X Marks the Spot- You’re almost done! Woo! (Please note that at this point I can’t think of a ‘X’ word that would describe me. I can only think of X-rayand that doesn’t make sense because I have never broken a bone. Wait, maybe X-ray would have worked…I’ll let you all decide.)

Yiruma- If you want to be swept away by amazing piano solos, Yiruma is your guy. His songs are beyond incredible and he is a fantastic pianist. “Kiss the Rain” would have to be my favorite because it reminds me of a lullaby. I wish I could be half the musician Yiruma is. You should definitely check him out!

zebra

Zebras- Just because they’re cool. And I couldn’t think of another ‘Z’ word to use. He’s a cutie!

Well, that concludes my extra long list of Kate-ness. Below are the fantastic blogs I have nominated in no particular order:

Her Locket
Books and Sandwhiches
Sweet Magnolia Chic
Amy Who?
Morning Angel

Here are ze rules:
1. Thank the person who nominated you.
2. Nominate other people.
3. Describe yourself with the alphabet.
4. Tell your Mom about what you won and how awesome you are. (And that you are, my friends. Every single one of you!)
5. Pass along the award.

I hope you have a great one wherever you are and DON’T STOP BELIEVING! And I’d like to thank Ms. Lonely Lion again for the kind nomination. You are the reason for this madness!

*Cue guitar solo*

Sorry. Had to be done. I’d like to thank Ms. Lonely Lion again for the kind nomination. You are the reason for this madness! 🙂

Stay incredible.

Loads of Love,
Kate
xoxo

Leave a Reply

