Bigger

imagesCAUR0OAK

There are many situations and people that challenge every miniscule piece of who we are. They have horrible traits and horrible ideas and do horrible things. Horrible, isn’t it? These people seem to want a reaction out of their ridiculous acts and many get what they want. Sometimes it seems that these people end up on top in the world. And I’m not going to lie to you, some of them do. It’s not impossible for a bad apple to be at the top of the tree. I’d like to tell you that all the evil stepmothers, stepsisters, witches, trolls, goblins and dragons are left out of the prosperity life has to offer leaving the hero to live Happily Ever After. I’d like to say that the sun will always be shining and all the clouds glow pure and white as they roll across the pale blue sky. The truth is that life isn’t exactly fair. (I know I hate it just as much as you.)

There will always be things in life that want to push you down and keep you there. You may have to scrub floors and deal with evil stepsisters or walk in the pouring rain without an umbrella on the day you wear your new shoes. Does this mean you give up and become sour? No way, doll. Now is the time you get bigger. We’ve all heard the phrase, “Be the bigger person.” I didn’t really know what it meant or how it felt until I faced things that knocked me on my unsuspecting can. It’s basically the slogan for every Disney movie you have ever seen. In the beginning you see a small diamond in the rough just waiting for a chance to be something. We fall in love with these characters because we can sympathize with them. We all have internal or external conflicts that hold us back and we all want to overcome them. Granted every Disney character is different in their own way. Each one has his or her own weaknesses and strengths that help develop who they become.

I know, Kate this is cheesy. Get to the point. Okay, well how about this. Imagine you are watching a movie. You just popped a bag of popcorn and you begin to settle in to your favorite spot on the couch. The movie is starting and your attention is drawn to the character on the screen. Look at her! She is perfect in every way. From her long flowing hair to her amazing clothes, this woman is the stuff. As you watch the movie you feel like something is missing. I mean she has a red convertible, a handsome boyfriend and an amazing job. Where is the conflict? Where is the moment that I can relate with her and shake my fists in triumph with tears running down my face when she finally overcomes all of her obstacles? Why is her hair so perfect? She just got out of a convertible. This movie is ridiculous.

You see without conflict in life or in movies, we don’t have the chance to become the bigger person. If everything is smooth sailing how will we learn new lessons and improve ourselves? How boring would a movie be if there was no overcoming any trial? It would just be another stupid highlight reel. (You can tell how much I love ESPN by the previous statement.) You will never see anyone’s true character in times of happiness. In problems we can see just who our friends are and who truly matters.

So life without challenges would not be life. Does that mean the problems won’t hurt or that they become fair over time? Absolutely not. But I can say out of experience that the problems I have had to face have taught me lessons that have stuck with me. I learned the hard way, but thanks to jerks and idiots (pardon the heated adjectives, if you please) I am actually a better person.

And now I leave you with an amazing quote from the champ of all champs, Rocky Balboa: “The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place and I don’t care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard ya hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward.”

So the next time you get in a fix with a difficult person or situation, just smile to yourself and think, “I am bigger and soon enough I will be better.” Stay incredible and strong. May the force be with you.

Loads of Love and Support,
Kate
xoxo

Leave a Reply

