Things To Do When You’re Sad

sadness

Hello every person in the blogosphere! Hope you are just peachy, every single one of you. To be honest, as of this moment I am in a Blah mood. (Blah moods are those horrible emotions you get when you realize tomorrow is Monday, or you failed an important test or your crush prefers blonds over awesome curly headed brunettes. *Sigh* I know, life can be such a tease.) So I figured instead of wallowing in my copious amounts of self pity and crying until my face hurts, I decided to create a list of thing to do to make those Blah Blues fly out the window and hopefully splat directly in some random volcano where no one will ever find them again.

Ya ready? Me too! Let’s go!

hug

1. Hug something– I know this one is cliché, but it works. Something about squeezing an object until it cannot breath or blink just makes people feel better. So drop whatever sad/depressing thing you are doing and go hug something! Anything! A pillow, your teddy, that random jacket that you never wear out in public, a random stranger on the street, anything! (Although the random stranger thing can get you in to some deep problems i.e. restraining orders or bright purple shiners, so maybe try hugging someone you are somewhat familiar with.) Fun fact of the day, did you know that the desire to squeeze a tiny or cute object (puppies, babies, kittens) can actually be scientifically explained? Apparently when the brain sees something small and adorable, it links it to a slight tingle of aggression, causing the person to want to squeeze the adorable object. There’s your science lesson for the day. You’re welcome.

singing

2. Sing your favorite song…in a funny voice– Okay, this is very juvenile, I know, but you can’t tell me it’s not fun! Whether it’s a weird accent or a Kermit the Frog voice, it just makes you feel better. Just don’t be surprised when your parents barge in to your room because they heard a strange sound. Apparently “Get Lucky” with an operatic overtone is not their cup of tea. *Sigh* Everyone’s a critic.

3. Doodle– Even if you are not artistically inclined, just drawing something out on a blank page with bright colors and loads of squiggly lines just eases your mind. Things start to melt away and you begin to live in a moment of solitude. Unleashing your creative side helps flush out negative energy and allows your brain to do something other than focus on what so and so said about you or what happened in class yesterday. It allows you to be in the moment and drift to a happy place. Although I would recommend you not show off your emotional doodles to a captive audience unless you are da Vinci or something. Otherwise you may get quite a few stares and a sudden gap of personal space.

running

4. Get physical– No, this has nothing to do with anything romantic. It has to do with getting sweaty and sometimes a little sore. Exercising increases endorphins (the little cells dancing around in your body that make you get the warm fuzzies), gives you a sense of accomplishment and preps your body for a night of good rest. It doesn’t have to be a marathon or a Chuck Norris training video. Just take a walk, hike a peaceful trail, jog to the end of your street or power walk at the mall (while shopping, of course!). Getting up and moving just makes you feel incredible. On top of that it increases metabolism, decreases stress and soothes the mind. What’s not to love? Well, except the smell. That I could definitely do without.

cat love

5. Confess your undying love– This one sounds really delusional, but I guarantee it will make you feel slightly better. (Or maybe slightly embarrassed.) Have a celebrity crush? Get out their picture. Have a favorite food? Snatch it out of the fridge. Is your iPhone your everything? Get it out of your pocket. Now, tell it/her/him how much you love it/her/him. Pretend as though this is the last time you will ever see this special something/someone and just let it rip. Even better, put on your best “I’m in a soap opera and this is my big teary monologue that will hopefully move me on to bigger and better things” face and give it all you got, baby! I promise I am not completely delusional. You see, when we get sad, we tend to get serious about ourselves and our problems. Not that this is a bad thing, it’s just that your brain can only take so much serious/negative energy. After a while, it gets exhausted and needs a little light hearted fun. And what is sillier than caressing a tub of cookie dough and confessing your undying love/affection for it or dropping a cheesy pickup line just because you care? After all, cookie dough has been with you through everything, you know. Give it some credit. Ga’head. You know you wanna.

So those are just a few ways to get your mind off of those nasty Blah moments. (And I must add that you probably want to do these things in the privacy of your own room. Just to be safe…) I hope you are not in a Blah mood, but if you are, don’t fret. They don’t last forever. I know you will feel better in no time! Stay incredible.

Loads of Love,
Kate
xoxo

6 thoughts on “Things To Do When You’re Sad

  1. Ooh thank you for sharing! I will return to this list whenever I’m in a Blah mood! I like the singing one the best. I find that starting my day off singing (melodramatically in the shower) my favourite songs (brightens the rest of my day.

  2. I am in blah mood every Sunday night, without fail…auto pilot. One thing that gets me through is trashy TV he he.

  3. Loved this! I will definitely try the singing with a funny voice…I’ll probably go for some Disney songs, sappy, I know, but I just love those!
    Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

