Just Another Stereotypical Love Post

imagesCA4KU9OV

I thought in the spirit of Valentine’s Day (a.k.a. The Darkest Day on Earth) I would take a small chunk of my life and talk about crushes. Oh, yes, personal stuff! Who doesn’t like personal stuff, right? I thought I would share some of the things I have learned over the years (ewww, I sound old…) about that four letter word we all have a problem with.

You will always remember your first crush. They are the first person that makes you feel all of those magical butterflies in the pit of your stomach that makes you want to smile and puke at the same time. (I know, love is a crazy thing.) You finally get out of the “Cooties” stage (or you are still in it but refuse to admit you have feelings for that person) and you begin to see things in a whole new way. Suddenly everything that person does is enchanting and worthy of unending praise. Even eating crayons and glue is somehow endearing. I mean who else can cram seven crayons in their mouth like he can? He’s the total package.

One of the most confusing things for me when it came to elementary school love was that boys would be so mean just to get your attention. I mean was it really necessary for you to pull my hair and throw dirt at me at recess? What about that screams ‘affection,’ people? On top of that, I was a bit of a tomboy and I participated in all the races and I won most of them. And to be honest, I wasn’t a very affectionate kid on the outside. On the inside though, was a different story. So anytime another little boy would try to give me something out of affection, I would kind of reject it. (I know, I was horrible. Don’t worry though, they lived.) One boy actually told me he wanted to kiss me on the playground. Being only seven or eight, the thought of one of my friends putting his mouth on mine terrified me.

disgusted baby

Oh yes, that’s the face. I just didn’t see the allure. I was always taught by my parents that I shouldn’t share my juice boxes because of germs, so naturally touching mouths with another human germ trap automatically sent multiple red flags to my juvenile brain. And yeah, he was turned down too.

Then came middle school.

Middle school meant zits, social drama and loads of fruit flavored lip gloss. (Why anyone loved that stuff I will never know.) The boys grew taller and the girls became meaner. Suddenly everyone was dying to fit in. You definitely HAD to have a boyfriend because that’s what everyone else was doing. Of course no one took into consideration that we were pre-teens and had absolutely no earthly idea what a true ‘relationship’ was. Nevertheless when Jody hooked up with John in Social Studies everyone swore they would end up married with four kids and a suburban cottage. Truth be told, it lasted only until Algebra because it turn out that John preferred blondes, which of course as we all know Judy is not.

Many tears were shed, notes written, lines crossed and hearts crushed in the love game called ‘Middle School.’ Hardly anyone made it out unscathed. Looking back on it now makes me laugh and wonder how I could have been so short-sighted. (Undoubtedly I will probably look back on my life as of now within a few year and wonder the same thing.)

After middle school of course came high school. You would think by now the concept of relationships would have set in and we would have become more selective and we would all get along and sing happy songs like they do in High School Musical…

imagesCAAFLS46

Yeah, dream on. Granted I wasn’t falling for the stereo typical ‘All American Jock’ anymore due to his jerky ways and impassible ego. No. Now I am falling for the nerdy Dr. Who loving intellectuals. Not too bad kid, not too bad. That is until I soon realized that Dr. Who and Star Wars is as deep as it goes. No romance, emotional connections or thoughts of dating are found. It’s a classical Error 404: connection to reality not found. Bummer.

Then comes college. I soon realized that people are not to be labeled. There is so much more to a person than ‘geek,’ ‘Trekky,’ ‘jock,’ or ‘prep.’ Believe it or not, they actually have names! Names that they respond to! These guys have dreams, fears, thoughts, ideas, the whole nine yards! Wow. Pretty impressive. Who knew?

To be honest, I know this is the part of the post when I tell you all has ended well and that I have found all the solutions to life’s multitude of problems and predicaments, but alas I have not. (Plot twist!!!) I still haven’t found out why guys like to burp or why girls love Zac Efron…well, I do know the answer to the Zac Efron part… but I am working on it. One thing I have figured out is that life is a continuous learning process. Am I guaranteed to find the answers? Nah. But that doesn’t mean I will give up trying! I shall continue to research until the end of time! (Or at least until the end of me…)

imagesCAHWFHR7

Oh, yes. I love me some Zac Efron. Best wishes and stay amazing!

Loads of Love,
Kate
xoxo

2 thoughts on “Just Another Stereotypical Love Post

  1. How we constantly change over the years, and it’s funny how at every stage we think ‘this is how life is going to be for the rest of my life’! Sadly i sometimes still think that way and have to snap myself out of it because i know it’s not true. As for Mr. Efron, i don’t really get it lol, but then again, this is from someone who doesn’t get Ryan Gosling either.

    • Haha. Well, I suppose the Zac Efron and Ryan Gosling thing is just a phase until I find my own Mr. Efron/ Mr. Gosling. Then their looks will be irrelevent in my star crossed eyes… but until then it’s all I’ve got… haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

