A Growing Up Lesson

imagesCA8IF2MB

I’ve noticed that as I get older, the less I care about what other people do or think. I mean don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I am being inconsiderate or rude; it’s just that I want to be my own person. Through high school, you are crammed in a building of people wanting the same thing: acceptance. That’s what everyone wants. We want to know that we are not alone in the way we feel. Loneliness is scary at times, at least I used to think it was. But now I am realizing that being alone is probably the best thing that could happen for me.

When you are alone you see exactly who you are, no social masks or cover-ups. You are perfectly honest about who you are. In life being exactly who you are can drive people away instead of drawing them in. It looks pretty glum and you begin to think if you are really doing the right thing at first. Slowly you start to realize all the pieces of you that were hidden all those years that make you so unique. Granted, to society they seem outdated, unacceptable or strange, but they are you.

For instance, introversion has always been a shameful attribute in society. Many people try to ‘overcome’ their introversion to be like everyone else. They slowly try to tear themselves apart piece by piece just to be accepted. Soon they start molding their thoughts and speech to fit the norm. But really, if you take away from who you are, who are you?

Honestly I spend a lot of my time thinking and observing. This has apparently ‘cost’ me many fake friendships and a standard model of popularity. It used to bother me but now it makes me laugh. To think I actually cared about someone else’s distorted standard of normal. If I had tried to be someone else, I would have never been happy. I would constantly be searching for an answer I had thrown away years ago. I am thankful that for some reason I didn’t try to fit in with anyone else. Maybe it was my stubborn or rebellious streak, but I am proud of it.

I know it is easy to compare yourself to others and list all the things that are ‘horribly wrong’ with you, but in reality, you are who you are for a reason! Self acceptance is far more important than the acceptance of your peers hands down. I know, it sounds cheesy, but it is true. As Dr. Seuss said, “No one is youer than you!” So please stay incredible! I like you that way!

Loads of Love,
Kate
xoxo

Leave a Reply

