Ready to be ‘Sherlocked’

sherlock

It’s almost that time again. The wondrous season premier of one of the most amazing television shows known to man. I’ll never forget the day I was first exposed to this show. It was a rainy day and my Mom and I sat in front of the television wondering what to watch. My aunt had previously lent us some DVDs for our entertainment pleasure. The box said ‘Sherlock’ and BBC.

“I don’t know about this,” I thought to myself staring at the box. “I thought Robert Downy Jr. did a good enough job as Sherlock. And who is this Benedict guy anyways?”

I furrowed my brow trying to think if I had ever seen anything he had acted in.

And…

Nope. Doesn’t ring a bell.

As my Mom put in the first disk I went into the kitchen to heat up a can of soup. Yes, that’s right, a meager can of potato soup. The can label said ‘delicious’ so I figured ‘Why not?’

To be honest, I was hoping to get out of watching the show by saying that, despite prior times, I had decided that it would be uncivil to eat said meal in front of the t.v. like some bored wild animal. After all, I was a respectable human being with a perfectly good dining table.

Despite my efforts, I had failed and began to trudge to the couch with my hot soup in hand. What came next was a bit of a surprise…

I loved it.

I loved everything about it.

Sherlock’s dry wit, Watson’s assistance, the scenery, the crimes, the unforeseeable ending, the whole lot!

It was magical…

To be honest I hardly touched my soup because of my curiousity. (That and the soup label had indeed lied. You just can’t find homemade quality soup out of a can, I have learned.) Several hours later, I was hooked.

The whole show I looked a little something like this:

imagesCAV26CBR

I had to give him props that Benedict guy could really act. He is by far the best Sherlock I have ever seen. (Sorry Robert, you had to see that coming. It was inevitable. But look on the bright side, you will always be Iron Man in my eyes.)

I tend to get emotionally invested in anything I read and watch. If I can’t connect to someone somewhere down the line, I don’t pursue. But this show was different. It left me confused, happy, terrified and entertained.

And to be honest the ending to last season’s final episode left me looking like this:

imagesCAOMAC59

So here’s to you, Sherlock. I admit I judged you rashly, but I take it all back. You are the highlight of January in my eyes. I don’t know what I will do with myself when you go away…

Maybe I’ll read more or do more chores. You know, something boring that is supposed to ‘build my character’ or what not.

Lots of Love,
Kate
xoxo

4 thoughts on “Ready to be ‘Sherlocked’

  1. Hurrah for Sherlock!!!!!
    My friend got me into this show…and oh, am I grateful! 🙂
    And I do agree with you, Benedict “The Beautiful” Cumberbatch certainly is the best Sherlock EVER!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

