You Are Braver Than You Believe

tumblr_mkgdzj4hoB1qkg4y8o1_500

Growing up, I always wondered how adults seemed to never be shaken by things that would make me shiver under my covers. They seemed to calmly know what to do and when to do it. I always wondered if I would be able to do the same thing. It scared me to think that one day I would have to be the adult. I would be the one who steps in and saves the day.

Well here I am. A legal adult and I’m still a little scared. How can I hold someone else together when I can’t even do that for myself? Fear keeps so many people from reaching their full potential. I don’t want that to be me. I want to be brave and try even though I know failure is a few heartbeats away. I may fail, but I want to always have the drive to rise again. Failure is guaranteed, but persistence is not.

I have also found that without fear, there would be no bravery. Think about it, if everything was easy and pleasant, no one would have to be brave. There would be no heroes, triumphs or battle cries. Granted your circumstances may leave you with scars, but you can see them as badges of honor and bravery. You had to fight to earn those. They will forever tell your story. Your bravery is mirrored within those eternal marks.

Fear is not a choice. It will always affect each of us in some way, but we can chose to lay down defeated or rise and fight bravely. One of my favorite quotes by far is from a little boy whose best friend was a stuffed bear. To be so young, he was always so wise.

“You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem and smarter than you think.”

Stay brave and amazing.

Loads of Love,
Kate
xoxo

2 thoughts on “You Are Braver Than You Believe

  1. I don’t believe it when people say that nothing scares them anymore and that they don’t feel fear. Perhaps they are just numb. No one is completely courageous or braver than brave -all the time- it totally is a choice that we make. Ohhhh Christopher Robin, what can i say? he is just beautiful.

Leave a Reply

