I Don’t Wanna Grow Up

peterpan__span

Growing up is a natural part of everyone’s life. We all have to undergo this change in order to progress. You have to be bigger, stronger, wiser and braver to survive the strange world of adulthood. The sad thing is that most grownups forget the most important things about their previous state of mind. It’s as if only materialistic things truly matter to most people. We compete to stay “on top” of the food chain, crushing whoever and whatever to get there. We don’t enjoy the small things like an ice cream cone after a long bike ride or sitting around a fire telling cheesy knock-knock jokes and ghost stories. Suddenly we are overwhelmed in having the best to be the best.

Well, in a civil way, I refuse. I refuse to grow up if it means stressing over silly things and forgetting what truly makes me happy.

I refuse to stop believing in faith, trust and pixie dust.

I refuse to stop putting sprinkles on ice cream and cupcakes, even thought it doesn’t necessarily make it taste better. (It’s about presentation, people.)

I refuse to stop singing with the birds.

I refuse to forget about Prince Charming.

I refuse to stop personifying inanimate objects and naming them.

I refuse to stop whistling while I work.

I refuse to stop daydreaming in my spare time.

I refuse to choose a ‘practical, modern novel’ over a fairy tale.

I refuse to stop wearing colorful socks with cool designs on them.

I refuse to fit in when I was born to stand out.

I just refuse. I don’t wanna grow up, and you can’t make me! (Excuse me, I got out of hand there.) The point is that I don’t want to throw away the good I already have in my life for it to be replaced with skepticism and hardness. Sure, I may be naïve, soft, innocent etc. but I am happy this way. This is the way I want to live. I believe you can have a fairy tale, if you will only believe in it. After all, it’s all about perspective.

There are princesses, princes, dragons, elves, fairies, knights, unicorns and stepsisters everywhere if you will only open your eyes and see them. They can help create your story, but remember, you are the one who writes it. Circumstances, obstacles and trials are guaranteed, but they do not control how you react. You have the power to be any character you want to be, if you only allow it.

Perhaps I have gone round the bend. You should join me! It’s much more fun over here! I hope you have a great day.

Loads of Love,
Kate
xoxo

11 thoughts on “I Don’t Wanna Grow Up

  1. This post really has made my day.
    It’s nice to know someone else thinks like I do! You RULE!
    *high five*
    I’m a princess and yay, other princesses, elves etc have been acknowledged.
    Thank you for spreading your sparkly, wonderful thoughts.
    You refuse to grow up. Same here.
    🙂

  2. Reblogged this on ZooBoo and commented:
    Kattie Kate’s post here immediately caught my attention, and I found myself nodding throughout!
    Do check out her blog too, it’s awesome!
    Thanks go to this cool blogger for sharing her thoughts.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

