Why So Serious?

whysoserious

We have all heard it before.“Laughter is the best medicine.”

*Side effects may include and are not limited to aching sides and face, unexpected tears, loss of breath, light-headedness, loud (and possibly snorting) sounds from the mouth, sudden knee slapping, and strange facial abnormalities. Please do not operate heavy machinery.

Anyways, laughter helps make any situation better. On top of that, you don’t have to pay for this kind of medication. Finding the humor in everyday situations is a great way to pass time and keep a smile on your face.

And why on earth is it so hard to keep a straight face when something is meant to be serious? I mean, really! There MUST be an answer to that!

Granted, sometimes smiling and laughing is the last thing you want to do in a stressful situation. After all, you were late to class because you spilled your scalding coffee on your new pants and the bathroom was closed for cleaning, so you had to go to the one downstairs with the questionable lighting and occupants. On top of that, when you finally make it to your seat, you notice that the exam you thought was next week was moved to today. (Note to self, PLEASE read your emails every once and a while. Kay? Thanks.) Hey, how hard can this be, right? I mean, I fill out unadjusted trial balances in my sleep. Pshh. Bring it.

I used to throw pity parties for myself any time the slightest thing knocked me off my rocker. I have since grown into the new, improving Kate. The new Kate laughs at her mistakes and tries not to think that everyone and everything is out to get her. That was my problem. Poor me. Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong. I was the curly headed, green eyed Eeyore that pooped on my own parade. What a shame. Such a waste! I’m so glad that I have learned that bad and embarrassing things don’t define you. They help you develop a sense of humor and positivity that you otherwise would have never had.

I’ll never forget the first day of my second semester. I managed to forget an umbrella and had to walk across campus in the pouring rain. (Now that takes talent!) Now the old Kate would have thrown her soaking wet fists to the sky and thought, “Why me?!” The new Kate was walking casually through the rain with a smile on her face and a slight giggle. I got some looks and pointing fingers, but that’s ok. By the time I reached the next building, I was drenched. I found the nearest bathroom and attempted to dry my hair under the hand dryer and almost gave myself a concussion in the process. I looked in the mirror at my interesting new look and started laughing. (Maybe now I am just insane…well, if that is the case, at least I am happy.)

Naturally, there will be people, things and situations that will try to break us, but you just have to keep on laughing and moving on. They say laughter lengthens your life, so the longer those people keep those smug faces, the less time you will have to deal with them! (Oh, that was a bit morbid…)

Keep on laughing and finding all the humor you can.

With Love and Laughter,

Kate

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Why So Serious?

Leave a Reply

