Hipster is So Mainstream

Okay, so being an active participant in society, I hear hundreds of people discussing whether something is “mainstream” or not. If I had a dollar…well, you get the point. It seems that the current fear of today’s youth is that they may somehow blend in with the social-networking-obsessed, coffee-binging, indie-loving crowd. This apparently means more to them than wars, economies, poverty, sickness and anything else that could possibly turn the world upside down.

It’s really sad to think that people are so concerned that they are not unique or special, so they have to do or like outlandish things just to stand out or make fun of someone because they like something. I mean, think about who we are as people. Our DNA, fingerprints, personalities, ideas and actions define our individuality. It’s like what your mom said about you being like a snowflake. You know, no two are the same and what not. And guess what, mom was right…again. (If only you had listened to her when you got that horrible haircut at that bargain cuts place. You will never live that down or burn all of those looming pictures.) You are an individual because you are you! As Dr. Seuss said, “There is no one alive who is youer than you.” And after all, who can argue with Dr. Seuss? Right? I mean the guy built a whole new world based on his imagination and has been inspiring kids all around the world to be themselves and do the right thing. No biggie.

Another thing that bothers me about the whole hipster subject is that people will literally try to make you feel bad because you like something. If you love something, love it whether it’s mainstream or not! Okay, I’m going to admit something, I like One Direction. There I said it. Go ahead and point your hipster fingers and attempt to make me feel shameful and rebuke me for my mainstream behavior. (Sorry, it won’t work. Others have tried.) I like them, and that’s all that matters. I refuse to let someone else push me in a corner and make me change. I like them because of their upbeat music…and they are pretty attractive too. (I love you, Niall!) I have been poked at multiple times for this, but I truly don’t care.

If you think about, hipster has become mainstream as well. Everywhere you look, people are clutching their Starbucks coffee cups listening to Mumford and Sons and “popping tags” at the local Goodwill… one problem though, there are millions of others protesting the evil mainstream and they look just the same.

I know this article probably makes me sound as though I detest hipsters, but I don’t. It’s cool if you do all of those things, but it’s not cool if you are doing them for all the wrong reasons. Following is for Twitter and for Twitter only. Be the leader of your own life. Who cares about what others think? If you are a fellow Directioner, play on, my friend. If you knit sweaters for all seventy three of your cats, more power to you. If you like collecting red rocks with green speckles on them, go for it. Just please realize that if you are wearing your mom’s vintage snot-green fluffy sweater for your one hundred and thirty seventh “Selfie-Sunday” Instagram picture with your old-man glasses, that you aren’t exactly curing the mainstream epidemic. But then again, if that’s your thing, knock yourself out. My point is that people shouldn’t be so mean about others liking different music/clothes/actors/food etc.

The real message is just be who you are and like what you like, mainstream or not. You were made special and unique. As quoted in The Help, “You is kind, you is smart, you is important.” Stay fabulous and shine on.

Loads of Love,
Kate
xoxo

Leave a Reply

